2 oz GB Queen’s Beasts – The Unicorn (Coin 4 of 10)

//2 oz GB Queen’s Beasts – The Unicorn (Coin 4 of 10)

2 oz GB Queen’s Beasts – The Unicorn (Coin 4 of 10)


Any Quantity at Bulk Discount Price: R1,400.00 each (Incl. VAT)

Free shipping and insurance on purchases of 10 or more coins
Each coin is sold in a special capsule


Face Value : 2 Pounds

Purity : 99.9 % / 2 oz (62.2 g)

Thickness: 38.6 mm

This coin is the fourth coins from a new series of  ten coins released by the Royal British Mint of majestic creatures featuring the heraldic beasts that stood guard at The Queen’s coronation.The latest release is the Unicorn of Scotland. Inspired by ancient symbols of power and identity, the collection brings to life the ten imposing statues that lined the entrance to Westminster Abbey in 1953 at the coronation of Her Majesty The Queen.

What makes this series unique is that each coins weighs 2 troy ounces, or 62.2 grams.

The background for this range comes from the coronation of Her Majesty The Queen, where ten heraldic beasts stood guard, The Queen’s Beasts, sculpted by James Woodford RA for the coronation ceremony.

The coins will each depict one of the The Queen’s Beasts, reimagined by Royal Mint Coin Designer Jody Clark. Jody also created the latest definitive coinage portrait of The Queen to appear on United Kingdom coins. His bold interpretations of the Lion of England will be the first coin to be released. (Source: https://www.royalmintbullion.com/)

On the reverse is the image of a lion standing on its hind legs, with the heraldic shield of Britain in front of it. Engravings on this face identify the animal represented in the series, as well as the coin’s weight, purity, metal content, and year of issue.

The obverse side of the coin bears the latest depiction of Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II in right-profile relief. The Queen’s portrait is accompanied by engravings of her name and the face value in Pound Sterling. This represents the fifth iteration of Her Majesty’s portrait to appear on UK coinage since 1952. (Source: www.jmbullion.com)

The Ten Beasts that will form the collection are:

  • The Lion of England
  • The Griffin of Edward III
  • The Falcon of the Plantagenet’s
  • The Black Bull of Clarence
  • The Vale of Beaufort
  • The White Lion of Mortimer
  • The White Greyhound of Richmond
  • The Red Dragon of Wales
  • The Unicorn of Scotland
  • The White Horse of Hanover